Bucket List Extraordinaire!

Photo Credit: donjd2 on Flickr (Creative Commons)

Photo Credit: donjd2 on Flickr (Creative Commons)

As promised, here is the bucket list I told you all about in this post.  Enjoy!

  1. Be a mother, whether through adoption, birth, or both.  (Did you honestly think my list would start with anything other than this?)
  2. Learn sign language.  (ASL 1: Done.  ASL 2: Starting in two weeks.)
  3. Get another tattoo.  (Yes, another.  Hi, Grandma and Papa!!!  Please don’t be too scandalized.)
  4. Set foot in all 50 states.
  5. Visit ‘The Wizarding World of Harry Potter.’
  6. Walk where Jesus walked.
  7. Change my oil on my own.
  8. Go on a camping adventure with friends.
  9. Become an award-winning blogger.  (Wishful thinking?  Eh, maybe.)
  10. Join community theatre.  (Yes, I spell that with the ‘re.’  Perhaps it’s pretentious, but I really don’t care.)
  11. Blog once a week for an entire year.  (Wishful thinking again?  One would assume so when looking at my track record.)
  12. Bake one Pinterest-inspired dessert per month, for a year.
  13. Cook one Pinterest-inspired dinner per month, for a year.
  14. Make a list of all my faults and work to improve them.
  15. Go on a cruise.
  16. Participate in another ladies book club.
  17. Make another dress.  (Should probably add “get sewing machine fixed” to my to-do list…)
  18. Keep a regular prayer journal.
  19. Eat a vegetarian diet for one month.
  20. Set foot on all seven continents.  (Yeah.  You heard me.  All seven.  Antarctica: Here. I. Come!)
  21. Write another children’s book.
  22. Learn Russian.
  23. Visit Auschwitz and other Holocaust memorial sites.
  24. Attend a Star Trek convention.  Probably in costume.  Probably more than once.
  25. Go on a road trip with no destination in mind.
  26. Get a cat.  (DONE! 9.1.12)

    My little snuggle bear, Roo.

    My little snuggle bear, Roo.

  27. Go Geocaching.  (Treasure hunting for the modern age.  So much fun!)
  28. Read the Bible cover to cover.
  29. Participate in a huge food fight.
  30. Become well versed in cake decorating.
  31. Find a circle of blogging friends and meet them at a blogging conference.  (Any takers?)
  32. Run a fun 5k.  (Color Run, y’all!)
  33. Run a baller 5k.  (Something scary, like Diamonds and Dirt.)
  34. Get out of debt.  (My grad school plans will kind of get in the way of this one…)
  35. Go spellunking again.
  36. Return to Jamaica and visit my friends there.
  37. Go to an airport with packed bags and take the next (affordable) flight.
  38. Meet at least one of my blogging heroes.  (And try not to fangirl like CRAZY.  I’ll probably fail on that part.)
  39. Go snorkeling and conquer my fear of fish.  (I will hunt them like a pro, but I am mortally terrified of swimming with them BECAUSE SOME OF THEM HAVE TEETH AND COULD EAT YOU!!!!  *ahem*  Yes, I know that is an irrational fear.  But seriously, what phobia is rational?)
  40. Make a list of my strengths and grow them.
  41. Vacation at an all-inclusive resort.
  42. Create one Pinterest-inspired craft per month, for a year.
  43. Read all of my books.  (I never plan to actually cross this one off, but trying will be grand!)
  44. Visit Boston, St. Louis, and New Orleans again.
  45. Ride an elephant bareback.  (I will quite honestly weep tears of pure joy if this ever happens.)
  46. Go to the movies alone.  (DONE! 1.18.13)

    Silver Linings Playbook. Excellent film. Loved going to the theater by myself. That might be the only way I ever go to the movies from here on out. I mean, unless you’re buying. :)

  47. Hike in the mountains.
  48. Illustrate my fairytale.  (One that I wrote for a Children’s Lit class in college.)
  49. Visit every major biome.
  50. Marry an amazing man.  (I don’t necessarily have control over getting married (I can’t *make* it happen), but I can control who I marry.  And he is going to be rather awesome.)

What about you?  Any awesome stories of items you’ve crossed off your bucket list?  Any ideas of what I could add to mine?  Hit me up in the comments!

Not-so- “listlessly” yours,
breylee♥

16 thoughts on “Bucket List Extraordinaire!

  1. GREAT LIST! I always feel inspired to create my own life bucket list…though it takes me so long just to do yearly ones, I think I get overwhelmed lol. Agree with you on #3, 5, 9, #31 …& a few more. Also, I go to the movies alone at least once every three months. =)

    • Thanks, Grace! It was a lot of fun to put together, and I think the fact that I have “my whole life” to get it done kind of makes me feel a bit more relaxed about actually doing most of these things. I’m looking forward to crossing a few more off over the next few years at least. :)

  2. Let’s see…I’ve done 8,11, 27, 36, 39, 41, and 46 (and I’m 5/7 for #20). Not bad for a list that’s not my own! And I think I agree with or would at least try most of the others (aside from 3).

    I like that this is almost equal parts self-improvement and crazy adventures; most of the bucket lists I see are stuffed with things like skydiving and bungee jumping, things that are on my pail list (of things I never, ever want to do).

  3. So out of the 50 you listed, there are 30 that I share almost completely. Here they are:
    1. Of course gender roles reversed. Been looking forward to being a father for a while now and it also wouldn’t matter if it was by adoption or birth.
    2. This one is more of a recent thing I’ve wanted to learn. Heard there are so many deaf people in Michigan alone and not enough interpreters.
    3. There are a couple of tattoos I want to add.
    4. Something I’ve wanted to do for a long time.
    5. I want a wand, to be put in gryffindor, and ride a broom. Oh and my own owl :D
    6. Yeah been wanting to do this for several years.
    7. I’ve been shown how to do this but haven’t been able to do it alone yet.
    8. I’ve got all this camping stuff I haven’t even been able to use yet. Including a 6-8 person tent.
    15. Only ‘cruise’ I’ve been on was on my dads navy boat when I was about 13. Went from Florida to Virginia and back. Got to see some wild dolphins at least.
    18. This one I’ve kinda tinkered with but haven’t kept up with it.
    20. Would love to do that as well.
    23. Honestly didn’t think of this before I read it here but I think that would be pretty powerful to go there.
    24. Definitely been wanting to do that. Also want to go to a comic-con, dressed up if I can.
    25. I love road trips
    26. Got that one done too. Now I want to get a dog in the future too.
    27. Another one I haven’t thought much about until I saw it here but I know I’d love to do that too.
    28. Tried to do those “read in year” plans but failed.
    29. I’ve daydreamed about that many times haha
    32 & 33. Sounds fun and challenging. Just what I like.
    35. Always thought that would be fun to do. Never know what you could find.
    36. Kinda have to modify this one. Never been there but would like to go.
    37. This sounds a little like a scene from Yes Man haha. It does sound very exciting though.
    39. Although I don’t have a fear of fish, I would love to go snorkeling in the tropics.
    41. Yeah that would be awesome.
    44. Never been to those places but would like to.
    45. Although I doubt I would cry from joy, I would definitely take that ride.
    46. Done that too
    47. Would love to do that and stare down to the bottom.
    50. Of course I’ll be modifying this for marrying a woman.

    I think you should add “go to Riverside, Iowa” :)

  4. i love this! i have some of the same goals on my own unwritten bucket list.

    also, i think you should make that blogging conference the influence conference, but i may be a little biased on that count. ;] i went last year, loved it, and highly recommend it!

Leave a Reply

